Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 01-20-2020, 02:55 PM

Smile Sand hill crane hunting in Alberta

Keep Fingers crossed. We may see our first season this fall. Exciting!!!!proposed in southern Alberta. Would be nice to see the whole province but walk before we run

https://www.canada.ca/en/environment...37A6YYkg#toc13
Old 01-20-2020, 03:01 PM

I have a few at my place but not interested in hunting them
Old 01-20-2020, 03:06 PM

I sure hope so with the cranes! I never thought I would be disappointed about an increase in legal hunting opportunity, but raising the pintail limit to 8 per day while many states are dropping to one seems a little extreme. The poor things fly first and get pounded to heck enough as it is IMO. Also disappointed not to see an increase in the white front goose limit. I’m no scientist but I see no shortage of white fronts. In fact according to their pop estimate I see nearly a 1/4 of the flyway population in one morning scout at peak season😂. That’s within a half hour scout and meanwhile during that time they are seeing white fronts already as far south as Missouri. My guess is within the next 10 years if they don’t raise the daily bag limits they will have a speck conservation season as well lol.

Last edited by ganderblaster; 01-20-2020 at 03:11 PM.
Old 01-20-2020, 03:12 PM

Ribeye of the sky!

It would be fun just to get 1 and see if that name is true or not
Old 01-20-2020, 04:04 PM

I would have to try it at least once just to see what I think of cranes
Old 01-20-2020, 05:43 PM

That would be so awesome!
We don't get a big flight of em in my area but I would scout long and hard for a hunt or 2 for those eagle eyed delicious birds.

For my coyote pics @trophy_country_coyotes on instagram

life's too short to fish nymphs
Old 01-20-2020, 06:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by aulrich View Post
Ribeye of the sky!

It would be fun just to get 1 and see if that name is true or not