Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 08-30-2017, 11:24 AM

Default Need moose advice.

Hey my first season with a bow had a bit of a crazy morning. Spotted two young bulls this morning first one stalk didn't go Very well barely saw him. Second one was interesting, bumped a cow elk early on she stops broadside at 35 and I have an elk tag burning a hole in my pocket decide to pass. Keep going I have the moose at 200 drop put some trees between us can't see him come around to where I should be able to see him 100m away or so he's already fed off the field. Move up check area around where he was find a good game trail heading into a marshy area follow it. Hit another trail look down it just as he crosses 100m away. Try to shadow him close the distance never see him again. Didn't hear him crash off or anything don't think I blew him out.

Here's my question this is my first time hunting moose how much do they follow patterns would he be back on that field tonight or tomorrow morning there was a decent amount of tracks there but not tonne.

Thanks.
Old 08-30-2017, 11:39 AM

You passed on an elk !?!?!?!?!? Quite literally the best tasting animal in the woods!!!!!! I've been hunting elk for more than a decade and have yet to get a shot. Never, and I mean never, pass on the 'gift' opportunity. Oh well, too late now.

Moose do tend to stay in the same area but not like whitetails where they will be in their tracks from last night. It's worth checking. As you found out, they can also cover a lot of ground in short order, so don't burn a week on it. Two in the same area (and an elk) suggests there is a reason for them being there, so I would check that spot routinely.
Old 08-30-2017, 11:40 AM
Banned

You know where they live now. Wait until the end of September and call them.
Old 08-30-2017, 11:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3blade View Post