Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 10-02-2011, 11:39 PM

Default First moose hunt ever.

Well guys, I got asked a few weeks ago to go out on a moose hunt with a friend of mine, this is my first year hunting and it would be his first year moose hunting. So of course I said yes! He has hunted for a few years but almost exclusively whitetail.
We headed out to his parents place (close to where we would be hunting) on friday night, and before first light saturday morning we headed out, spent the morning walking a few cut lines, doing some calling, sitting and waiting for a bit, listening for any sort of response or noise. We didn't hear anything, went to a few different areas and did that all morning and into the afternoon. We were having no luck so we decided to hang a few stands and try for some whitetail in the evening. We got out to the stands around 530 and there were 2 coyotes sitting out about 150 yards from us and they hung around for about an hour or so. At about 710 that evening 2 does walked out into the field but didn't come inside 100 yards so we didn't have a shot at them. Well we went home empty handed that night.
This morning we were out in the field already by 7am and started in a different area than saturday, walked and called much like yesterday until about 945 when we sat down for a bit on a cut line leading to a field with a big ridge in it. We were both getting pretty bummed out because we hadnt heard or seen anything (other than lots of tracks and a bit of droppings). I decided to walk up the ridge to just see what it looked like on the other side, I got to the top and saw two white tail does standing there and my heart started pounding, i could have had a shot at one....if i hadnt left my bow sitting down on the cutline! yes i know, rookie mistake, haha