Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 10-13-2012, 08:23 AM

Default New Canadian truck drivers

This picture is the result of loader meeting open storage door on trailer.
I drive a loader for a living, load from 10 feet up to 60 feet lifts on to 48 steps, flat decks, 53 ft steps and flat decks. I've noticed lately that a lot of drivers that come in cannot speak even simple English. Example, you need you're bunks up.
I get that blank stare, after pointing and pointing sometimes even getting out of the loader to show them I'm wondering how they even got their truck license.
Not all are like this but I would say at least 95% are.
I've had to show some how to even tie down their load, where to put their bunks ect. Above picture is a direct result of leaving storage door open after belly strapping.
No sympathy from me, took pic, reported it and kept on with my day.
Old 10-13-2012, 08:29 AM

The culprit. The outside forks spread from 16 feet out to 32 feet
Old 10-13-2012, 08:44 AM
Banned

Now that's a forklift!
Old 10-13-2012, 08:44 AM

you think its bad here, try the lower mainland. It's a joke.
Old 10-13-2012, 08:48 AM
Banned

I'm pretty sure lots of people get their licence by paying the fee. That's it. Here's the money, here's your licence. The way some people drive, there is absolutely no way they ever passed a drivers test.
Old 10-13-2012, 08:56 AM

A couple of weeks ago I ran into one of the guys you are talking about. He took the wrong turn on highway22 and was trying to back up his trailer. I felt sorry for him and took him to a flat spot so he could turn around. I never understood one word he said. The sad part is there are truckers who have lost their trucks or their trucks are just sitting because these guys undercut the fees.
Old 10-13-2012, 09:02 AM