Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 09-04-2018, 06:48 PM

Default Quickest way to compare powders with the same bullet?

I am fairly new to reloading. What is the quickest way to compare say 2-3 powders with a chosen bullet. Without loading from say lowest to max charge with all 3 powders. Would you say load maybe 3 charge weights (min,mid,max) with each powder 3 shot groups and pick the most accurate?

I did pick up a cheap chrono but havent used it much for actual load development, just used it to determine that my factory loads are pretty inconsistent velocity wise. Maybe the chrono is inconsistant?
Old 09-04-2018, 08:28 PM

IMO, Looking for shortcuts with things that go bang is a recepie for disaster.
Old 09-04-2018, 09:34 PM

When you start a load development, you start in 10% or 0.5grain powder increments. Then eventually you find the node your gun likes and you refine it in 0.1grain increments. Similar idea is when you use ladder test.
Now, if you go ahead with only 3 loads (min, med, max) you are risking to miss the node your gun like. You also will not be able to see if and when the pressure signs show up.
So, no. You cannot do it. The ladder test, is somewhat faster but requires some shooting skills and a access to a 300+yd range.

Last edited by Ariu; 09-04-2018 at 09:39 PM.
Old 09-05-2018, 12:48 AM

After decades of reloading some things still have to be read about and there are no short cuts,period.It's just a hobby and nothing else,so learn right and enjoy.
Old 09-05-2018, 08:04 AM

And just a suggestion, if you are picking only one bullet you may have missed the sweet spot already. We all have powder/primer loads that work great with one bullet but terrible with another bullet of exact same weight. Try, try and try.
Old 09-05-2018, 09:42 AM