Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 07-30-2019, 07:58 AM

Default Shooting Stick Recommendations

Looking at options for first set of shooting sticks and thinking tripod is the way to go.

I've narrowed it down to Bog Pod and Primos Trigger Sticks, but trying to decide what option to go with.

Anyone have any experience or recommendations on either option...? Or another one altogether?

Thanks
Old 07-30-2019, 08:34 AM

I have been using the Primos Trigger Sticks tripod for 3-4 years, and they have been excellent. I have used them for moose, deer, pronghorn coyotes and ground squirrels, and have had new hunters using them, and everyone found them quick and stable to use. They will see use again this year helping newer hunters to moose and mule deer.Be sure to get the ones long enough to shoot while standing.
Old 07-30-2019, 09:36 AM

Old 07-30-2019, 10:15 AM

I use a Bog Pod . I also purchased the the optional Xtreme rifle rest and found it to be quite handy in certain situations.
Old 07-30-2019, 10:19 AM

Of the Primos shooting stick line up, which ones has everyone tried and pros and cons? I have been using a homemade stick cut from a willow but thinking about something adjustable (current willow only allows full standing shot lol).
Old 07-30-2019, 12:50 PM

I have primos trigger sticks and a bog pod. The bog pod is garbage compared to the trigger sticks.
Old 07-30-2019, 01:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokinyotes View Post
I have primos trigger sticks and a bog pod. The bog pod is garbage compared to the trigger sticks.
Good to Know !
Old 07-30-2019, 01:25 PM
Banned

Primos tripod
Rest are not worth it
Old 07-30-2019, 01:45 PM

Primos prices jumped $20 in the past month or so.
Old 07-30-2019, 02:14 PM