Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 05-14-2015, 05:23 PM

Default Global cooling?

So... Long story short,
My friends kid who's studying "Earth sciences" in university, and I were chatting the other night and he brought up this global cooling subject. He was explaining how the lack of sunspots in recent years combined with the sun going into an "minimum output stage?" is most likely going to put us into a "mini ice-age" over the next 30-50 years? Now.. I'm no scientist, but I thought things were suppose to be warming up? lol. In any event it became obvious that he wasn't joking around, and began explaining harsh effects on crops, power, ect.. I guess I'm looking to hear from of AOs "science" folks and hear their opinions..I'm hoping you can disprove his theory as it sounded very gloomy for Canadians..
Cheers,
H1602
Old 05-14-2015, 05:33 PM

Earth science students are probably the last people I'd consult about the climate
Old 05-14-2015, 05:34 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunter1602 View Post
So... Long story short,
My friends kid who's studying "Earth sciences" in university, and I were chatting the other night and he brought up this global cooling subject. He was explaining how the lack of sunspots in recent years combined with the sun going into an "minimum output stage?" is most likely going to put us into a "mini ice-age" over the next 30-50 years? Now.. I'm no scientist, but I thought things were suppose to be warming up? lol. In any event it became obvious that he wasn't joking around, and began explaining harsh effects on crops, power, ect.. I guess I'm looking to hear from of AOs "science" folks and hear their opinions..I'm hoping you can disprove his theory as it sounded very gloomy for Canadians..
Cheers,
H1602
Bobs your uncle. Modelling can go both ways. It is a theory. El Niņo is supposed to build to significant strength which if it happens will mean a milder North America...at least on the western half.