Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 01-03-2015, 08:50 PM

Default Coyote hunting fails

Hi, I'm new to the whole guns and hunting hobby (3years). I got it in my head the first year to go out coyote hunting so I bought a primos ecall and some camo and made many attempts at calling in coyotes, all of which ended with absolutely no results not a single sighting at best a returned howl from what sounded to be miles away. I have since boughten snow camo, a primos decoy, numerous mouth calls, sent eliminating laundry detergent, sent eliminating body soaps, various attractants, and to date the best I have been able to do is get a coyote to appear on a distant hill sit down and stare in my general direction, and nothing I do will get it to budge eventually it just gets up and walks off like nothing ever happened. This has happened twice now at two different locations.
I have treys more locations than I can remember and still nothing! Tracks everywhere so what am I doing wrong?!?!
Old 01-03-2015, 08:56 PM

They either smell you or you are catching their attention while you are calling. Possibly hearing you get walking into your stand, slamming the doors on your vehicle when getting out or parking your vehicle so they can see it. Just some thoughts.
Old 01-03-2015, 08:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell1 View Post