Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

View Poll Results: What should I do?
Confront the new arrival and ask if he will move? 87 61.27%
Move my established site? 10 7.04%
Nothing, just hope for the best? 45 31.69%
Voters: 142. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-11-2016, 09:36 PM

Angry Respect...

Feeling a bit ticked off today...went to check my bait and saw a truck about a km up the road, drive up to check it out and see pails and bags and know its another dude moving in...far too close. I have been baiting this spot for about 9 years now, taken some good bears off of it and now have a decision to make. Move the bait, confront the new arrival or just do my best to have a more attractive site.

Anyone have any suggestions?
Old 04-11-2016, 09:39 PM
Banned

Did he know you bait there? I'd talk to him and be polite
Old 04-11-2016, 09:40 PM

A mile isn't enough distance? Crown land? How much space do you want to claim ? a Township? a county?
Old 04-11-2016, 09:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by petew View Post
A mile isn't enough distance? Crown land? How much space do you want to claim ? a Township? a county?

The OP posted a km not a mile. I would never place baits a km apart, or even a mile apart. If they are too close there is a good chance that the bears will feed intermittently at both bait sites , rather than feed regularly at one site.
Old 04-11-2016, 09:53 PM

I would go talk to him, he may not even know you are there. If he does know and insists on being there I would move. We tried to space out our baits by at least 7-10 km's, any closer and the Bears would travel between them and we were just screwing ourselves
Old 04-11-2016, 09:57 PM

have a chat with him, if he stays around, bait it for this year and make yours THE bait for snacks.
we had baits within 3 kms and we always had a lot of bears.
Old 04-11-2016, 10:09 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torkdiesel View Post