Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 05-31-2013, 12:05 PM

Default Crossbow range day

I got in an hour of shooting yesterday, in between downpours. I had promised myself to do this after the recent crossbow posts on the forum.

1% of my hunting is accomplished with a firearm. 99% with a bow (compound, recurve and longbow) and most of that is for deer, moose and bear. Most of that again is done from a tree-stand. I purchased a blind nine or so years ago and have never used it. The only spot and stalk (still hunting) I do is on my way to a stand, from it, or getting away from the stand for a walk. I will wager that most bowhunters hunt from stands (or blinds) a good majority of the time. The only other occasions that still hunting would be preferred would be for elk or antelope hunting. I’ve been hunting with bows for 25 years.

Not one to exclude any tool for hunting, I bought a crossbow. Having said that, I support the current regulations with regard to the description of archery equipment, exceptions for disabilities and the seasons for which that equipment is used in. The status quo is just fine with me. I really don’t need anyone, especially anyone who does not own a crossbow or has never taken an animal with one, telling me about the pros and cons of crossbows. So please dispense with your unqualified comments……because that is what they are. Those who own and use recurves, longbows, compound bows and crossbows are the most likely to know what these tools are capable of and I would expect both pro and con comments on my views.