Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 10-18-2016, 10:28 PM

Default Netting Tips

This is my first year fly fishing and with that first time fishing on a river. I am curious the best way to utilize your net.

Most recently I have been nymphing some fairly deep water. Having my full 9 foot leader and then a couple flies below that, (up to probably 12' of leader) and a new Zealand style indicator 6-12" from my main fly line.

I have been simply walking backwards and fighting the fish till it is on shore. I know this is probably not the best for the fish so I would like to learn proper netting techniques.
Seems mathematically impossible to hold your rod high enough and extend the net far enough to scoop the little suckers up.
Old 10-19-2016, 06:49 AM

never heard of a new zealand type .anyways get a cheap very useful Phil Rowley slip indicator
Old 10-19-2016, 07:16 AM

The indicator is not the problem. www.strikeindicator.com check it out.
Old 10-19-2016, 01:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by millsboy79 View Post
The indicator is not the problem. www.strikeindicator.com check it out.
In my short time fly fishing, I've found that airlocks, or yarn, or any other fixed type of indicator will make landing a fish on a longer deeply-fished leader a challenge. You can only raise your rod tip so high and put your hand so far behind your back before you are tempted to grab onto the leader at the end of things to steer the fish to your net. That's fine for small fish, but bound to cause breakoffs in fish of any significant size. When I'm stillwater fishing with long leaders (12-15' range), I tend to use the Rowley-type quick release indicator as well. In moving water, I tend to use yarn, as it's pretty rare that I'm ever in water deep enough to put my indicator that far away from the end of the line to cause a challenge.

That all said, here's a short video that I think is pretty good... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olMeuB5QAV8