Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 09-11-2018, 10:13 PM

Default 257wby reloading

Hi my name is Greg and I’m new to reloading. Today I was working on reloading some once fired brass. I was very diligent on my case lengths and overall cartridge lengths. The rounds I made fit pretty tight in the chamber as I closed the bolt. I heated up one with a lighter to see where it was sticking in my rifle and this is what I found. Any insight as to what I’m doing wrong. A side note this hobby is going to grease my OCD in a terribly wicked way!
Thanks. IMG_3222.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 09-12-2018, 06:49 AM

If you can turn your sizer die down alittle more and keep trying until the issue goes away. If you can’t size any more the issue will probably resolve itself once they have been fired in your gun.
Old 09-12-2018, 07:01 AM

Is the die adjusted to bottom on your shellholder when sizing a case?
Old 09-12-2018, 08:00 AM

I don't know if I'm alowed to post this here but I don't reload 257 wby but I have 40 or so once fired Nosler brass if you're interested.
Old 09-12-2018, 10:32 PM

I turned the die down until it ran just touched and then an 1/8 of a turn. The shell fit a bit easier but is still snug. Can the resizer die be turned down too far?
Old 09-13-2018, 07:13 AM

In your situation I think you will be able to turn the die down until it contacts the shell holder and resize without causing any issues.
Old 09-13-2018, 01:04 PM
Banned

I had same issue, shimmed the shell holder and now it works 80% of time, some cases just need to be turned 180 and resized again. I run rcbs dies on lee presses. My 257 seems to have a very tight chamber, so i always run each shell to confirm it fits befote i load em up.
Old 09-13-2018, 01:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeprli View Post