Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 05-30-2013, 12:26 AM

Default New to fly fishing, looking for spots to start

As the title says i am new to fly fishing and do not have any friends who are into it to give me a start on where to go. I live in Wetaskiwin but am absolutley willing to drive to check out any good spots you guys would be so gernerous to tell me about. The only place I have fly fished is the stocked pond in town, pulling out only 6 or 7 inch bows, and the bow in calgary once as i passing through which is a great start but would love to expand and learn to fish different waters. Thanks in advance for anything you guys are willing to share!
Old 05-30-2013, 06:28 AM

Default Trout

Chief,sent you a pm

Last edited by Northwinds; 05-30-2013 at 06:31 AM. Reason: should have been a pm
Old 05-30-2013, 07:34 AM
Banned

Not trying to be a smart@$$.....but posts like this come up here every other week,and not many anglers are going to name their favorite honey holes on an an open forum for the world to see....they don't remain secret honey holes that way.
The good news is,there is plenty of info and resources out there,many of those at your fingertips right now.
1)Browse thru the 24pgs of flyfishing topics right here on AO....most newb questions have been asked and answered multiple times,and dozens(hundreds?) of locations have been named(outed) by good intentioned folks.
2)pick up ACA's "Discover Alberta's Wild Side" magazine for FREE at most any licence vendor.It gives locations,access details,descriptions etc for over 700 provincial Conservation Sites,many of which have fishing.