Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 12-18-2021, 04:49 PM
AO Sponsor

Default *Purchase done!!!* Left Hand Rifles... Need some guidance!

Hey all!

So first and foremost, I am an absolutely newbie when it comes to rifles. I mean I have shot many, used to hunt when I was a young'un, always with borrowed rifles, but I have never bought one other than a used old right handed .243 when I was a teenager because it was cheap and then moved to the city and gave it to my sister. I have not hunted in going on 30 years. I came here to AO for the fishing years back...

Well being a mod has made me spend a lot more time looking over the hunting and gun sections here and the urge to shoot is coming back, so I am starting to think about buying my first real rifle. I have no big lofty goals of crazy hunting excursions etc, but simply getting back into a bit of the typical hunting you see within normal accessibility around Alberta and BC, and have some fun trying to target shoot long at a range.

I do have one very large limiting factor as it seems looking on line there are a lot less options. Even though I am right handed by nature, I am blind in my right eye so since I was young I learned to shoot left handed and I want a lefty rifle as such.

Other than that, I am open to pretty much most things. I do not have a sky high custom build budget, but I also do not want something crummy. I realize I do not need things as nice as I probably want, but I am one of those people that will pay more for better assuming I am in my acceptable budget range. I see stuff online but when buying a rifle off the shelf, what add ons should be considered? A scope obviously but is there any other things I am not thinking about, and even with the basics, are there things to absolutely avoid?