Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 03-08-2018, 12:53 PM

Default Want to get into fly fishing.

I would like to buy a used fly rod and reel. I have only used a fly rod a couple times and it was my great grandpas so something more modern would be awesome. I am a beginner so maybe some of you experienced guys could sell me some beginner gear to get me started without ripping me off. Yes I posted in the buy and sell as well.

Thanks

Please PM, I am in Drumheller.
Old 03-08-2018, 01:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpie View Post
I would like to buy a used fly rod and reel. I have only used a fly rod a couple times and it was my great grandpas so something more modern would be awesome. I am a beginner so maybe some of you experienced guys could sell me some beginner gear to get me started without ripping me off. Yes I posted in the buy and sell as well.

Thanks

Please PM, I am in Drumheller.
I would suggest hitting up a fly shop and demo cast some of the entry level gear. Today's companies have some nice entry level rods and reels at very affordable prices. If you are near Calgary check out Iron Bow fly shop. He carries Reddington Rods and are very well priced and would be a great starter rod before you get hooked and want to purchase a Sage.
Old 03-08-2018, 01:40 PM

I watch kijiji religiously, and there is lots on there pretty cheap for a combo. Also lots posted on here.

Worst case there are normally early season sales at fishing stores that if you wanted you could get into a combo around 100 bucks brand new.

Good luck
Old 03-08-2018, 05:06 PM

What species are you mainly wanting to fish as it makes a difference in the weight of your rod and line.
Old 03-08-2018, 08:43 PM