Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 08-13-2018, 04:19 PM

Default Removing Carbon from Inside of Necks

Didn’t want to derail the thread regarding “how to clean” so will start this new one....
What are your thoughts/experience regarding the removal of carbon from inside necks as a part of brass prep?
I dry brush (with a nylon brush) to remove the “grit” but intentionally do not take it down to bare copper as it is my understanding that leaving a bit of carbon is desirable.
Old 08-13-2018, 05:04 PM

I run a bronze bore brush on my drill into the neck. One low speed pass and done. I don’t know if it’s better or worse than any other process but I haven’t seen any negative to speak of. Maybe I’m doing it all wrong.
Old 08-13-2018, 11:35 PM

I am the guy who asked about non-toxic "homebrew" formulas for cleaning built up carbon deposits - inside the neck of brass. I am a novice hand loader so I have lots left to learn I inherited some older , well used brass that might be "work hardened" = varying degrees of brittleness, the carbon buildup appears to be almost "baked on" after many uses. "Work hardening" can also occur when brass is set back to the original factory COL with a full length die set after every use, when fired in a long throat / freebore chamber = lots of stretching. Some guys trim brass length back to factory COL after every use - the wall thickness of the neck gets thinner after each trim, because of stretching. Small cracks can appear on work hardened brass during shooting, resizing and seating - visual inspection should be done , after each step. Easier to observe small cracks from the inside of brass with a clean neck. There is a potential for the carbon buildup of crud to fill a hairline crack from the inside, when the bullet is seated. It wouldn't be visible until the crack reaches the outside of the neck. One guy on a forum used a hawkeye boroscope on 308 brass and he estimated .2 grains of capacity was l