Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 10-13-2009, 08:42 PM

Default recurves

are there any recurve hunters in here?

i haven't bow hunted since i was a wee lad shooting gophers with my little bear 20# draw weight recurve...but my friends and i are looking into getting into bow hunting...and for some reason i am really drawn tot he recurves....

so my question is this...pros and cons of a recurve? do they hit as hard as a compound? and i would love to hear about those that hunt with them.
Old 10-13-2009, 10:44 PM

I'm just getting into traditional archery, ordered a custom longbow today. I'm sure there are a few guys here who can give you some better info, but from what I've seen so far while researching traditional bows: Recurves/longbows shoot generally about 150-200 fps, while the new compounds shoot over 300 fps so they definitely don't have as much speed. Max range is usually much less with the trad bow, and many trad bow guys shoot "instinctively", with no sights.

Lots of the trad bow kills are made under 20 yards. I used to hunt with a compound, and it is fairly easy with a good compound to make a kill at 40-50 yards. That's part of why I decided to get into it, for the challenge of getting close and harvesting game with a traditional weapon.

I hope you get a recurve, they are cool. I always admired the trad bow guys, they are generally a pretty dedicated bunch.
Old 10-13-2009, 11:04 PM

I've got an old recurve I used to hunt with, a Ben Pearson, 55 lbs at 29 inch draw. I've had it for at least 39 years, and it still shoots like new!!! Set it aside for a number of years, now I'm working at getting back in shape for hunting with it. Maybe next year because I'm just not that consistent with it past 15 meters yet, partly because I don't use sights.