Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 05-15-2018, 07:14 AM

Default For those who want a hunting dog... do your homework

Lots of talk on the forum about Lab breeders and those who want to buy a pup. I didn't want to hijack an existing thread, so I thought I'd start my own. I'm no expert on labs - just got my first - but I have had many hunting dogs, some who have won large stakes south of the border back in the 80s. Last year, as some of you may recall, I bought a supposedly finished GWP according to the dog's "pro trainer". Long story short, not all who take money for training are pros, but more importantly, it was my fault for not doing my homework. If no one has ever heard of a pro there is likely a reason. After many tears, the dog went to a new home because he was never going to be what I wanted him to be or what he was represented as. Live and learn.

After really giving thought to what and how I like hunting, as well as seeing Pixelshooter's wonderful dog Boo in action, I decided on a lab. After lots of talk and inquiries, I placed a deposit on a pup from a fairly large breeder. After reading a few stories about health issues, I decided to go in a different direction. I ended up spending over double what I was intending to spend, but after getting the pup, I am happy I did. I went with some people whose lives revolve around field trials and breed a few litters each year. The dog has a very good pedigree, which to me was not a guarantee, but a pretty solid indicator that I would get a dog with the inherent ability to do what I want.

To all those looking for a dog, if you are looking for a hunting dog, buy the breeding. Talk to many people starting with people in dog clubs. Do your research.