Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 11-19-2019, 01:21 AM

Default Jeep patriot

My daughter is looking at a 2009 patriot...
Manual T, any one have any experience with the patriot?

Thanks
Old 11-19-2019, 01:43 AM

Wickedly unstable on icy roads, even in 4x4.Drove one from GP to Prince George 3 winters ago. Would not drive it back, took a Toyota Camry instead, far better on the same icy roads. I have a lot of experience driving on really bad roads but I have never driven anything as twitchy as that thing was. Had full winter tires, less than 10K on the odometer and was fine on dry road. As soon as it got slippery or rutted, whole new beast.
Old 11-19-2019, 05:37 AM

Don’t do it. Compass, patriot and liberty are the worst vehicles made by Jeep. Problems will start to pop up in a year or two. That’s been my wife’s experience
Old 11-19-2019, 06:51 AM
Banned

You would do much better with a Sorento, Rav4 or Santa Fe in that class.
Old 11-19-2019, 07:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savage3006 View Post
You would do much better with a Sorento, Rav4 or Santa Fe in that class.
Yes, and the CRV
Old 11-19-2019, 08:16 AM

Yes stay away from Jeep. CRV gets my vote, unfortunately even used ones go for a premium price.
Old 11-19-2019, 08:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by traderal View Post
Yes stay away from Jeep. CRV gets my vote, unfortunately even used ones go for a premium price.
I've been looking at them as well, very common at the auction. I have a Grand Cherokee and the gas mileage is horrid. Drove a Liberty as a rental car, with the 4 cylinder engine, which got me interested, seemed like a good vehicle ?

Grizz
Old 11-19-2019, 08:38 AM

I would not recommend it unless you good with mechanical repairs.

My wife has a 2008 Patriot (North Edition, I believe). She is the only driver and is very conservative with her driving. Only city driving and no off roading.