Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-03-2024, 06:46 PM

Default Some Cartridges Don’t Fit

I’m new to reloading and looking for some help. I’ve reloaded the cartridges and found a small number that don’t fit well in the rifle chamber (bolt is very tough to close). The brass was all second use on this load. Why did this happen with a few? How can I fix the issue?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 03-03-2024, 06:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnhunter View Post
I’m new to reloading and looking for some help. I’ve reloaded the cartridges and found a small number that don’t fit well in the rifle chamber (bolt is very tough to close). The brass was all second use on this load. Why did this happen with a few? How can I fix the issue?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Need a few more details.
What caliber?
Did you FL size?.. or just neck-size?
Old 03-03-2024, 07:20 PM

Were all of the cases previously fired in the same rifle? Are you full length resizing? Were all sized cases measured for length? How far are the bullets seated off of the lands?
Old 03-03-2024, 08:18 PM

If the brass was previously fired in a rifle with sloppier chamber even if you full length resize the cases it doesn't re size the base of the cases to factory specs.
Old 03-03-2024, 08:19 PM

If your full length sizing make sure you have the die all the way down. If you're doing that most likely you just need to trim the brass. There could be lots of other issues but I'm assuming because you're new you're not jumping down the hoops of making bullets off the lands or doing partial length sizing etc.
Old 03-03-2024, 10:35 PM

More input needed!
- older 6x fixed scopes with fine X or target dot.
Old 03-04-2024, 05:35 AM

Check bullet seating depth
Check primer seated properly
Has brass been fired out of different gun ?
Have you shot hot loads previously
Check die set up for full length resizing