Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-23-2016, 08:50 AM

Default Buying Used Help!

Hey Everyone! So I am new to the sport and I found a Remington 597 with small scope in Calgary for sale. The price is right ($150), but I know nothing about purchasing used. My wife would be passing through Calgary this weekend to pick it up, but she knows less then I do (yes she has her PAL!)

What are some questions that I need to ask the seller?
What would she check for visually on the firearm?

Any help would be lovely and appreciated!
Old 03-23-2016, 09:23 AM

Ask the seller to state in an email the condition of the rifle, approximate round count, marks and bruises, how many magazines go with it etc. Get his PAL number in advance and phone to verify his PAl is current and good. Have him in the email state you can return it if it is not what he claimed it was at his/her expense. At this point you can just have your wife pick it up for you and you can go over it with a fine tooth comb when it gets home. Does the seller have a trader rating somewhere like here or CGN or many other forums out there currently that you could check? Most people selling on the forums are fairly honest and accurate in their description. That being said 150.00 is very low priced and they probably don't sell on forums or it is a bit banged up.
Old 03-23-2016, 09:43 AM

Before you buy a 597 research their history. There is lots of information on this forum about them.
Old 03-23-2016, 09:54 AM

Ya make sure you know when it was made, mine wiche was make in 2014 runs likes top and eats anything, a older one that I borrowed hat failure to eject, stove pipes, even after I took it apart and cleaned it, I've geard lots of ppl have the same problem with the older models
Old 03-23-2016, 10:00 AM