Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 08-14-2014, 07:12 PM

Default Shooting line

As you all should know, I'm a beginner for fly fishing and I can shoot line to about 20 feet, is that sufficient distance to catch fish in medium sized lakes (I know in streams its enough) I know how to go faster but I dont have enough line, I have 30 ft of floating line now, and then its all backing, I should get line 6 wt line but can't find 'em in the stores I usually head to. Are they in the Fishin' Hole. I know they're pretty pricey but I'm try to look for some that are less overkill with the price. Any tips and feedback, please tell me I'd greatly appreciate it as a beginner for fly fishing since late June.
Old 08-14-2014, 08:31 PM
Banned

What stores are you looking in,Sobeys?NAPA Autoparts?
Seriously though..EVERY fly shop,along with Fish'nHole,Wholesale Sports,Cabelas,BPS,along with Can Tire and Walmart will definitely have 6wt flyline in a wide range of quality and price to fit any budget.That said,you get what you pay for in fly line,cheap line will only lengthen the learning process and frustrate.
Standard spools of flyline are generally 90-100' long.The first 30' from the leader will determine the proper weight to match your rod,the remaining 60-70' IS the running line.ie;the front 30' of a 5wt will weigh 140 grains +/-5gr,a 6wt is 160gr,a 7wt 185gr etc and so on.....,
Ideally,it is that first 30' of airborne flyline that loads the rod properly,and 30' is what you would generally carry beyond the rod tip with false casts,then shoot coils of running line for more distance.
If you happen to be a youngster (under19?)in the South CGY area,shoot me a pm and I will gladly give you a decent 6wt line,I'm sure I have a cpl collecting dust here somewhere?
Old 08-14-2014, 09:24 PM