Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 03-05-2021, 02:44 PM

Default Warm weather in southern ab this week, how safe will the ice be?

Hello fellow alberta fishers, I've done a lot of fishing over the years but this is my first year getting into ice fishing. I'm in lethbridge, and we've had pretty warm weather this week. I'm just not totally sure how the ice is going to be around here. I was thinking of going out to 40 mile again this weekend, it was well over a foot thick last weekend when i was there, but don't want to drive that far if its melted too much. Maybe I would just be better off going the opposite direction out to pincher or crowsnest area, as its still colder out that way? I do like the mountains a lot, especially in summer, but I always seem to have a pretty slow time out there going after trout. What do you guys think?
Old 03-05-2021, 04:18 PM

as long as the overnight lows stay below 0, things should be okay for walking, but it really depends on how much ice there was to begin with. Next weekend is the end of ice season for most southern AB lakes. I'm hoping to get in one last weekend down south next Sat/Sun, but we'll see. There was 20"+ last weekend and with 2 weeks of sun and heat, it will be dicey for sure...
Old 03-06-2021, 07:54 PM

Default Southern Alberta lakes ice thickness

Does anyone have any current ice thickness reports for Eagle Lake? I'm considering going there tomorrow?
Old 03-06-2021, 09:36 PM

I was at McGregor and it has 2ft+ today. Little water on top but not bad.
Old 03-06-2021, 11:00 PM

How was the fishing at mcgregor ?
Old 03-06-2021, 11:48 PM

St Marys today was a good 24" as well, but it was definitely not as hard as it was last weekend. Any holes that had been drilled in the last few days have not frozen back over and anywhere there was goose crap, it had melted down a good 4-5" into the ice. Wont be long.
Old 03-07-2021, 09:51 AM