Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 06-30-2015, 12:06 PM

Default Three Point Creek

Can anyone tell me why the parking area at Three Point Creek near Millerville has the gate closed? Is this a local thing? Hate parking on a road in case my truck gets hit. I believe the creek is open to fishing but since I am new to Calgary, I may not understand all local fishing areas.
Old 06-30-2015, 01:04 PM

All the messes left at the informal gun ranges by the shooters resulted in the gates being put up.
Old 06-30-2015, 01:26 PM

So is this a perma closure?
Old 06-30-2015, 02:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DougC View Post
All the messes left at the informal gun ranges by the shooters resulted in the gates being put up.

No. No one shoots there. You are confusing this with another area.

I as there Sunday. There is indeed agate blocking car access. However, there are pedestrian openings on each side of the gate. Purpose-built gaps in the fence, so I took it that you could still walk in. No signage saying you couldn't, private property, etc.

What infuriated me inside as a barbed wire fence that went right down to and ACROSS the creek! Some landowner saying "This river is mine". You would decapitate yourself if you tried to canoe down the creek, Shocking. Just figuring out who to report this to.
Old 06-30-2015, 02:09 PM

I saw the barb wire there last year. I assume this is for winter sledders to keep them out and they have the orange tape on the wire. I just didn't know if the gate would be open by Fish and Wildlife or if some local did this. Hopefully it opens soon. Maybe I will see you there.
Old 06-30-2015, 02:39 PM

This has got to be illegal, no?????
Old 06-30-2015, 03:02 PM

Cattle crossing?
Old 06-30-2015, 03:47 PM

Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Okotokian View Post
This has got to be illegal, no?????