Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 10-16-2010, 03:59 PM

Default Stalking game on the prairie

Help! I am new to bowhunting this year, and really enjoying it. However, most of my hunting takes place close to home on the prairies and in the coulees. Not a lot of cover to keep you hidden during the stalk. I was within about 100 yards of all kinds of mule deer, but can't seem to get much closer for the shot. Any ideas or help welcome. Thought about carrying a 2D decoy in front of me just to hide behind. Any one else ever try this?
Old 10-16-2010, 07:14 PM

Hunting mule deer out here is a process of watching them in the morning until they bed down. Then you work your way in to where they are - slowly and carefully - until you get within bow range. Then you either wait for them to stand up and stretch or otherwise get up on their own, or you try and make them stand by grunting or bleating, etc. Usually works best if they do it on their own.

Getting into bow range is the real trick. I usually end up closing the last 50 yards or so bare foot - tricky in our cactus ridden landscape - but it sure makes a difference to how much noise you make (unless you step on one of the aforementioned cacti). You will probably end up crawling, rolling, sliding, etc. to get into position, so again, look out for cactus.

FWIW, sometimes it is just better to leave some deer alone as where they are bedded, and the wind direction, will not allow you to get close enough. If left alone, the deer will likely be in the same area the next day, but if you bump them, they will find somewhere else to be.

I have managed to get myself within 50 yards of a big buck, 35 yards and 26 yards from 2 other bucks in three days of MD hunting this year, just have not managed to get the right opportunity.

It may take you a couple years of trying to get it all to work out right, especially if you are holding out for a big guy.

Good luck.
Old 10-18-2010, 11:45 PM