Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 08-17-2019, 07:20 AM

Thumbs up Hunting spots

I am new to hunting and want to teach my boys. I am not asking for anybody's good spots, just how to go about choosing a good spot. How to identify public access lands and what traits make a good spot. Any information would be helpful. Thanks
Old 08-17-2019, 07:40 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.

Figure out an area you want to hunt, what zone and what county/MD it is in....get a landowner map, indicates crown land too...then load up and go do a recce of the area, get in tune with the area and the game available, once the season starts buy the tags and enjoy the outdoors....remember succes is not on taking game it's the complete experience.
That is how we do it and keep on finding new areas etc and even in some areas we already thought we new we learn something new....enjoy.

Be careful when you follow the masses, sometimes the "M" is silent...
Old 08-17-2019, 07:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oilers8420 View Post
I am new to hunting and want to teach my boys. I am not asking for anybody's good spots, just how to go about choosing a good spot. How to identify public access lands and what traits make a good spot. Any information would be helpful. Thanks
First post, no location.

This is going to be a tough one.

I’m sure you’d prefer to meet up, visit, chat and or interact wit some like minded folks before, asking them for the perverbial keys to the front door.

Most outdoors people enjoy bringing youth into the fold, and lets face it that’s our life blood, but sometimes how we ask something is far more important than the answers we receive.

There are no absolutes
Old 08-17-2019, 07:50 AM

A landowners map, will show you who owns which land, and from that point on, you need to get out and scout.
Old 08-17-2019, 07:55 AM
Banned

Well, there's an app called iHunter. That's a good start.