Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 03-18-2013, 09:56 PM

Default Parallax Adjustment

I'm new to hunting and am only comfortable shooting 150-200 yards at the moment. Im looking at purchasing a new scope this year and would rather spend the money once, than have to buy another scope in the future if I am making longer shots.

So my big question is does parallax adjustment make that much of a difference for shots under 400 yards?
Old 03-18-2013, 10:07 PM
Banned

On a hunting rifle and particularly in the ranges which you describe, I would recommend staying away from adjustable objectives. IMHO anyhow.
Old 03-18-2013, 10:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by beerhonky View Post
I'm new to hunting and am only comfortable shooting 150-200 yards at the moment. Im looking at purchasing a new scope this year and would rather spend the money once, than have to buy another scope in the future if I am making longer shots.

So my big question is does parallax adjustment make that much of a difference for shots under 400 yards?
Here's a scenario for you....

Your stalking a green break between 2 fields, you flush out a real nice buck around 150 yards infront of you.... He dashes out into the field 50 yards then stops to give you the stink eye... You have 3 seconds to shoulder the rifle and get a shot off.... Now what yardage is your adjustable parallax set at?

Having more variables on a hunting rifle is not always a good thing...

If you like to post up nice and early with a bipod on an excellent vantage point where you can see the game before they see or wind you then it's quite the experiance to focus in on them and measure size with Mil's etc etc...
Old 03-18-2013, 11:01 PM
Banned

Parallax affects shots at ANY distance
Old 03-19-2013, 07:31 AM

Yes parallax causes issues....does it cause enough to miss an animal? Perhaps....if I miss an animal parallax is the last thing I would point at as the cause.