Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fly-Fishing Discussion

Old 05-25-2013, 11:06 AM

Default new fly reel

Hey Guys,

I'm just starting to get into the fly game, I've been out a few times on a Cabellas combo set up but am looking to upgrade reel.

I had my heart set on a Pflueger Trion reel but was told that they stopped making extra spools for that reel. Is it possible to find them anywhere? Ebay hasn't shown any yet. Now that I've got that in mind I've been looking at Lamson Konic reels ... I'd like to stay between $100 - $160-70 sort of thing, I was wondering if any guys had an opinion on either reel or something similar that would work well for a guy starting out.

I am new to fly fishing and 70% of fishing is done on the Bow. The other 30% would be a mix of K - lakes and the smaller hike in lakes around them. Hopefully more streams and creeks as I get better and better.

Thanks guys, good luck out there.

Last edited by TMLhammy; 05-25-2013 at 11:07 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 05-25-2013, 11:43 AM
Banned

I've had a Konic 2 on my 5wt going into it's 4th season of hard use,no complaints other than internally it has a bit of "plasticy look" to it.Aside from that though,it's a nice lil reel for the money,nice drag with low start-up,stays adjusted, has seen 300+ days(?) of abuse,including punishing runs from several Atlantic salmon when my Hardy was being repaired and I used the K2 on my 8wt for a few days.That said,one of those salmon was 20+ lbs and near spooled me on 3 seperate runs but that lil Lamson put the brakes on her.....pretty sure it will and has handled ANY Bow R. trout with ease,lol.
Old 05-25-2013, 12:12 PM

I own a konic and have no complaints, its one of the best reels in your price range.
Old 05-25-2013, 12:38 PM

http://www.allenflyfishing.com/trout-ii-reel-series/ <-- smooth as butter reels.
Old 05-25-2013, 12:56 PM