Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 08-26-2015, 12:58 PM

Default Motorcycle road test - any tips?

Taking my motorcycle road test this week.
Passed the knowledge test and I am a careful / slow driver.

Wondering if any one has any tips as to what they are extremely sticky on or automatic fails ?

THanks,
Old 08-26-2015, 01:06 PM

Over exaggerate your shoulder checks. And obey traffic laws. What type of bike and how long have you been riding it?

And best of luck.
Old 08-26-2015, 01:20 PM

Take the motorcycle safety course first, if you haven't already, before you try the road test. Even if you've been riding elsewhere for years. Used to be there were a couple of things they'd get you with, including one biggie right off the bat.
Old 08-26-2015, 01:54 PM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.

Most times the tester will,take you through a playground etc so watch speeds, also ensure you pull into right lane to make the right turn even if there is no visual evidence of two lanes, signal your intentions and kill the signal after making the turn. Good luck.

Be careful when you follow the masses, sometimes the "M" is silent...
Old 08-26-2015, 02:32 PM

Ask the tester how many lanes you have. Shoulder check, shoulder check, shoulder check. Don't drag your feet. Don't let the bike roll back when starting on a hill. Watch your speed and watch the signs for playgrounds etc.

Take a motorcycle safety course prior to taking the test if you can. If not then take one afterwards. The information presented and skills learned will make you a much safer rider.
Old 08-26-2015, 02:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogo View Post
Taking my motorcycle road test this week.
Passed the knowledge test and I am a careful / slow driver.

Wondering if any one has any tips as to what they are extremely sticky on or automatic fails ?

Thanks,
Driving too slow is a fail.
Ride in the improper lane position is a fail.