Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 01-01-2009, 06:37 PM

Default custom mountian rifle

I am looking forward to beginning my mountian hunting career this coming fall, and I'm looking to build my ideal custom mountain hunting rifle. Ideally, it'll be lightweight, stainless/syn, and on a sako action. Now when it comes to caliber and barrel type, I have no clue. I've been thinking about the 6.5-284, or the 6.5 creedmoor, or possibly a 257 stw, or 7mm, like i said I am undecided!!!
I know depending on bullet length, the rate of twist will change, but as for barrels, pac-nor etc, I am lost!!! I'm not sure if it makes a difference or not?!
I plan on topping it with either a leupy or Nikon scope!!
Like I previously stated I am new to hunting in the mountains, and have always dreamed of chasing sheep and goats in the mountains. I am still young (23) and want to go all out, so I want everyone opinions on GEAR NEEDED and the BEST gear, and everyones conditioning routines. Since I don't have horses, it'll be burning alot of boot leather, which is fine with me, getting there is half the fun, right?!!!
All help is appreciated!!!!

Happy New Year To All!!!
-madcarpenter
Old 01-01-2009, 06:46 PM

Contact a gunsmith and see what they can do for you.

Smith's with good reputations in alphabetical order are.

Alberta Tactical Rifle (member here)
Corlaines in Dawson Creek BC
D. Henry in Bentley Ab. 403-748-3030 Wed only
Rangesports Unlimited in Kamloops

Get prices and features, ask about chamber reamers on hand etc.

good luck

There are no absolutes
Old 01-01-2009, 08:12 PM

Hi Mad,we chatted a bit a while ago. If you would like to stop over and discuss different options/gear for hiking pm myself. Although I dont do much high country hunting now, I do have a fair bit of experience at it.
Stop over and see the photos/rams we have taken

Ian
Old 01-01-2009, 08:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rottie View Post