Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 09-24-2018, 08:01 AM
Banned

Default Tree Stand Fall Arrest

Hello, I'm new to bowhunting and tree stands but not hunting in general.

I just put up a Hawk hang on stand and was wondering what everyone uses for a GOOD fall arrest system. The whole stand cost $150, including the harness. I think my life is worth more than $150 so I'm wondering what you guys use to keep safe.

I've read on archerytalk that guys use rock climbing harnesses. Anyone here use them? What about a rope grab system? Can ascend up freely but any sudden falls it'll stop you. At least in my experience with rock climbing indoors.

Thanks in advance.
Old 09-24-2018, 08:19 AM

I use one of the Hunter's Safety System harnesses - cost a bit over $100. It's a bit heavy, but it is super quick to put on and adjust, and it is comfortable. I don't see it on their web site anymore, but the closest approximation would be their Hanger Harness.

The only thing I don't like about it is that the lineman's loops don't have rings in them, they are just loops of webbing - which is true for most hunting harnesses. When I'm climbing a tree and constantly clipping/unclipping the lineman's belt when traversing branches, it can be a pain.
Old 09-24-2018, 09:17 AM

It’s good to get the best harness you can find, I like my linesman’s harness others like other harnesses. The big thing to understand is the (any) harness is used to keep you from falling out of the stand ...not to stop you half way to the bottom. Keep your tether short as possible and above your head. Best is to use a safety rope with a Prusic loop... YouTube is your friend for that one.
Old 09-24-2018, 09:44 AM

Yes, Yes, YES!!

Get a good comfortable harness, and then use it!

However, most people do not understand that the falls happen when stepping off and on the stand itself.

Most likely you will be on a big poplar tree, and the bark is smooth as glass when frosty or frozen.