Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-27-2020, 07:43 PM

Default Help with Camera Purchase Decision

Well, I am looking for a new camera. I currently have a DSLR system that I have not used in years. My I phone has been my go to . I am a very lazy photographer rarely come off auto. I don't want to carry a bag with big camera and lenses anymore. So I am looking for something compact with very good photo rendering in auto mode. I have you tubed everything out there "I think" and I want everything. So realistically I want to be able to put it in a fanny pack or small messenger bag, used for vacations shots, pictures of grand kids, Landscapes etc. I have looked at everything from $200- $1500. I do like the micro 4/3 offerings from Olympus as well as The Tough TG6. I would like to be under $1000.00.
The other thing, if someone has a TG6 how is the video and sound from the camera?
Thanks.
Old 02-27-2020, 08:54 PM
Banned

Cameras such as the TG-6, though good, especially with their waterproofing will not give you the resolution that you are used to with your DSLR.
The best of the premium compact cameras (IMO) are the Sony RX100 series
https://www.creativebloq.com/feature...d-shoot-camera
The primary difference is its 1" sensor which is about 4x the size of the sensor in most compact cameras.
There are a number of different models that we carry https://www.creativebloq.com/feature...d-shoot-camera
If you are interested PM me and I can provide some insight and AO pricing.
Old 02-29-2020, 10:06 AM

Default Canon G7X Mark II

I picked up one of these and love it - I have lots of professional gear but this is my EDC

I take it everywhere now
Old 02-29-2020, 11:27 AM