Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 11-02-2008, 12:41 AM

Default A little help for the new guy?

Well hey there everyone, I'm Brad. I am brand-new to the sport of hunting(just waiting for my turn to get my Non-restricted PAL). I know absolutely NOTHING of the sport, just woke up one morning with an urge to shoot something and eat it. I'm planning on going shooting for the very first time in a couple of weeks, to The Shooting Edge in Calgary, and although I'm still unlicensed, I am already shopping for my first rifle.

Now, this is when I found this site, and felt it was time to enlist the help of those that have been around for a little while and know the ropes. I come from the school of thought based on asking every question, even the ones that will sound the dumbest. So, I have some questions about my first rifle. Here are my circumstances.

I have NO experience with guns whatsoever. I know that when I mock-hold a weapon, I shoot left-handed, which I understand may restrict my selection of guns. I will be hunting in some densely wooded areas west of Red Deer, and potentially out in the open plain surrounding Brooks as well. My understanding is that when one is learning to hunt, they should stick to white-tailed and mule deer. Therefore, I need a gun and caliber that are condusive to killing deer.