Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 10-17-2014, 03:04 PM

Question Reloading question

I have a question on reloading some rounds for my 300 Win Mag (Hornady interbonds, 165gr)... Attached is a picture of a page out of my Speer Reloading manual. Im new to reloading so I don't have much knowledge on this.

So my question is, what would be the advantage of using Reloader 22 or H4831SC compared to using the IMR 7828? Why would I not use the IMR powder and get the extra 200FPS? Would it be less accurate? And why is there more powder per shell? Is it shaped differently?

Also, is this data for Speer bullets ok to use for my Hornady bullets?

Thanks!!
-Spencer

Fish of 2014-

Yellow Perch-22
Lake Whitefish-7
Pike-19
Walleye-63
Burbot-7

Last edited by *BigSexyHunter*; 10-17-2014 at 03:11 PM.
Old 10-17-2014, 03:10 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by *BigSexyHunter* View Post

So my question is, what would be the advantage of using Reloader 22 or H4831SC compared to using the IMR 7828? Why would I not use the IMR powder and get the extra 200FPS? Would it be less accurate? And why is there more powder per shell? Is it shaped differently?

Thanks!!
-Spencer
typically the more case volume you can fill the more accurate the load. compressed loads are pretty common for me.

now i would say stay away from r22 unless you want to pay more for a powder you can almost never ever find.
Old 10-17-2014, 03:11 PM

Maybe check more than one source for data. Hodgdon show the max load of 7828 as 79.5.
And Nosler shows the 7828 as the slower powder.

http://www.hodgdonreloading.com/data/rifle

Last edited by benamen; 10-17-2014 at 03:16 PM.
Old 10-17-2014, 03:12 PM