Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 06-20-2014, 10:17 AM

Default How to start - try to get 1 of every species!

June 20, 2014

Hello all,

I'm new to the forums, and after reading a few pages of posts (my favorite one being White girl's sturgeon one, I gotta meet this Wayne Christie!) I thought I should sign up. Although I'm 35, I'm just a fishing newb (just started in August 2013) but got addicted quick. I live in Devon, AB. I'm a single dad with full custody of my daughter, so I only fish every 2nd weekend when she goes to her mom's...although I sneak in a bit more than that..haha. While I was sitting late 2013 waiting for ice to form (and should have waited longer than I did...haha) I thought up a good goal for me to graduate to an amateur fisherman- for the year 2014 (Jan 1st to Dec 31st), catch one of every species in Alberta!
It was a little tricky determining the species, with every website saying something different (different names, different numbers, etc), so I went off of AlbertaFishingGuide.com. They say there's a lot of species in Alberta, but there are 17 main ones. In the short time I've been fishing I've already gained tons of fishing stories going through crazy adventures. And I'm only getting started :-)
Here's the list so far...
1) Brook Trout - got it
2) Brown Trout - got it
3) Bull Trout - got it
4) Cutthroat Trout - still need
5) Golden Trout - still need
6) Lake Trout - got it
7) Rainbow Trout - got it
8) Arctic Grayling - still need
9) Burbot - got it
10) Goldeye - got it
11) Lake Whitefish - got it
12) Lake Sturgeon - got it
13) Mountain Whitefish - still need
14) Northern Pike - got it
15) Walleye - got it
16) Sauger - still need
17) Yellow Perch - got it
(plus I've caught 3 bonus species, not on the list)