Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Old 08-18-2013, 10:42 AM

Default reloading question for my 270 win

Can someone who has alot of knowledge reloading and also reloads for a 270 please pm me? i Have few questions i would like to ask and clarify. i Care to do it privately then have everyone flame on
Old 08-18-2013, 10:53 AM

No one will flame you for asking reloading questions
Old 08-18-2013, 11:31 AM

So i was out shooting yesterday with my newly made reloads. after shooting them all off 55g in h4831sc was a grouping of about .74 in sierra game kings then everything opened right up then closed back in again at 60g to about .8(all at a 100 yards). question is which would you take? would you go with 60g and try play around with seating depth and try tighten it up more and keep the velocity or go back to 55g which was tighter to begin with? any help with this would be nice i am new to reloading and been a pain trying to find something my gun finally likes. thx for all help i just copied what i pm'd a forum member. In both groups that were tight first 2 shots were usually close to each other and 3rd making it that .7 to .8 away might be me not waiting long enough or just human shooting error. Just trying to get a direction to go with on my reloads
Old 08-18-2013, 11:58 AM

What grain of bullet are you shooting and how close are you to your max load of powder?
Old 08-18-2013, 12:32 PM

130g and 60g from hodgdon site is max load
Old 08-18-2013, 01:20 PM
Banned

Refer to your Sierra reloading manual and go for their "accuracy load" on the bottom of the page. Every time that I do, stellar results. Don't mess with seating depth, just follow their instructions making sure of course that COAL will cycle nicely out of your magazine.
Old 08-18-2013, 01:25 PM

According to the Sierra manual the load of 60 is over max by 0.8 grains of powder.