Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 12-19-2017, 07:59 PM

Default E-Caller or Hand Call

Hey guys I am a total newbe at coyote hunting. I would like to purchase my first call and would like your opinion as to which direction I should go. I will be a very casual hunter as in a couple three times a season. Would you recommend an E-Caller or Hand caller? and which brand to start out with? I don't want to spend a lot of money, just want to experience the hunt.
Thanks for the input.
Old 12-19-2017, 08:04 PM

I favor hand calls, far more versatile as far as I am concerned. But there is a learning curve with them and lots of practice makes perfect. E callers are nice in that you can move them away from yourself and draw attention to a different direction than yourself. E callers have made it possible for people that suck at calling to get dogs.

Thomas Sowell
Old 12-19-2017, 08:06 PM

if you are casual and only three times a year. I would recommend a hand call. I believe i have the primos rabbit distress hand calls. They work well. Easy to learn them. I also use a mouse squeaker. another good recommendation.
"This year will go down in history. For the first time, a civilized nation has full gun registration. Our streets will be safer, our police more efficient, and the world will follow our lead into the future!" 1935-Adolf Hitler
Old 12-19-2017, 08:06 PM

If you are only going to go out a few times a year just get yourself a couple hand calls.
Old 12-19-2017, 08:09 PM

Thanks guys, thats what I was thinking. If you could only have 2 calls which two would you pick?
Old 12-19-2017, 08:13 PM

Probably a predator quest ruffi dawg and primos mouse squeaker.
Old 12-19-2017, 08:17 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokinyotes View Post
Probably a predator quest ruffi dawg and primos mouse squeaker.
Gonna head out tomorrow and see what I can find at the stores. Been watching a ton of videos on you tube and can't wait to give it a try.