Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 09-04-2009, 08:35 AM

Default Question to experienced bow shooters

I was reading in the new issue of bowhunting world this morning, one particular article stated that you shouldn't be watching your arrow all the way to your your target. I don't completely understand this. Does this affect accuracy? I've been shooting for two years now and frist year bow hunting all my groups are pretty good I think, and I watch the arrow all the way! Just wondering what other peoples thoughts were.
Old 09-04-2009, 09:19 AM

The reasoning for the advice is that a lot of people will try to move the bow out of the way in order to see the arrows flight. This WILL result in a very bad shot.

So basically don't watch the arrow, watch the spot where you want the arrow to hit.
Old 09-04-2009, 09:25 AM

I agree with Russ. Just work on your follow through and you will not see the arrow fly. And as stated before watch the spot you picked on the animal. You should see the arrow arrive. It's all in the form.
Old 09-04-2009, 09:47 AM

In hunting situation, try to keep track of where your arrow hit (or missed). This is very important in deciding whether or not to pursue the animal based on "good" or "fair" or "poor" shot. The shot placement and the early blood trail are important things to know to retrieve your game.

Your bow holding arm and bow should still be in the same shooting position at the time your arrow hits the target.
Old 09-04-2009, 10:12 AM

Yes okay that makes sense. I guess I'm going to pay A LOT more attention to my form. I can honestly say that I try to hold my bow in place but maybe I do move it some to look for my arrow! Thanks guys
Old 09-04-2009, 12:21 PM

As pointed out in a previous post. The reasoning behind the advice is that shooters move the bow to see the arrow in flight. However, if what you're doing works and your groups are consistently tight pay no attention to the advice.