Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 09-05-2018, 11:28 PM

Location: 3rd rock from the sun, formerly from 4th rock from the sun
Smile Premium diesel or regular diesel? Any real difference?

So I’m new to the diesel world lol I have a 5.9 Diesel in a 2001 2500 truck. Has anyone noticed any real difference between regular and premium diesel to make the extra expense for premium worth it? I use an additive with the regular diesel but some people have told me they get an extra 300 kms per tank using premium diesel. Anyone find that they get extra mileage etc with the premium?
Old 09-05-2018, 11:29 PM

No benifit . Placebo
Old 09-06-2018, 12:13 AM

I have never seen it for sale huh....

Wouldn't buy it and don't use additives either.
Old 09-06-2018, 12:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CNP View Post
I have never seen it for sale huh....

Wouldn't buy it and don't use additives either.
Shell product
Old 09-06-2018, 06:16 AM

I've bought the shell regular and it goes through my truck pretty fast compared to husky or esso. I haven't tried the shell premium. Shell is the only one that I've seen with a regular and premium for diesel.
Old 09-06-2018, 08:07 AM

If you're already using a good additive, I wouldn't bother.

I would worry more about getting old diesel than anything else. Make sure you always fill up in high volume locations. I'm betting the premium diesel doesn't rotate through the tanks nearly as much as the regular and that may cause some issues on it's own...
Old 09-06-2018, 08:16 AM

Premium diesel much like premium gas, only benefit is much more $$$ out of your pocket.
Old 09-06-2018, 08:24 AM

i have always wondered about the premium diesel at shell as well
thinking maybe it has less biodiesel like there premium gas has no ethanol
at my local shell station the premium diesel suddenly appeared at the pumps