Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 02-05-2011, 10:05 AM

Default Building this bunk: need advice on type of finish

Our oldest daughter has a smallish footprint for a bedroom but has a 14ft vaulted ceiling, so I decided to build her a queen bunk like this (minus the bottom portion) to open up some space underneath for a desk and futon. I'll be using rough fir for the timber and rough cedar for the rest.

I've done quite a bit of woodowork but have never had much luck with getting a good finish on furniture I've built. I'd like to try and replicate the finish in the photo as much as possible. Other than Sikkens Log Cabin stain, can anyone recommend a less toxic interior finish? I've tried varathane water based stains and minwax in the past. I prefer the minwax but thought there's got to be better out there. I've never tried paste or wax finishes before.

What would you recommend?

Old 02-05-2011, 10:12 AM

you could do a coat of tung oil, like what people finish gun stocks with, its food safe and would give you the darker finish
Old 02-05-2011, 10:36 AM