Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 06-12-2014, 09:24 PM

Default Building myself or not ?

I am in the planning stages of a new home. Looking at the various options out there is getting a little confusing and if anyone has some input it would be greatly appreciated.

Personal info: I've had a lot of experience framing, plumbing, laying tile etc…. as I used to have my own little reno business and have helped quite a few buddies with their homes. However, I'm getting up in years and a little slower than I used to be.

The new house has to fit into a pretty tight budget so the balance between what do I pay for someone else to do the work compared to the savings of doing it myself is the big question. In todays market how much ( as a percentage ) does labout impact the price of an RTM or contracted house ?

The location is on family land and the site has family living close by so it can sit without worry of thieves and such.

So if you were a 50+ year old fellow with limited help from friends but a good background in building on a tight ( very tight ) budget and a three year window to build what would you do ?

P.S: My other half is not the patient type and does not want to live in a construction zone.

thanks in advance for any advice
Old 06-12-2014, 09:30 PM

Smile I had a teenaged son

My neighbour hire day labour guys and they helped with the heavy work. I think he contracted the roof, I did too.

It is very hard to get guys to come, so you may end up doing much of it yourself anyway.

I got fixed price quotes for the concrete, roof, and dry wall.

Good luck.
Old 06-12-2014, 09:32 PM

I did absolutely everything myself with the help of friends. 2800 feet in 7 months.

Yes, if you have enough help do it yourself, start in may done by october.

Originally Posted by Twisted Canuck
I wasn't thinking far enough ahead for an outcome, I was ranting. By definition, a rant doesn't imply much forethought.....
Old 06-12-2014, 09:37 PM