Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 01-31-2018, 08:40 PM
Banned

Default Structural Engineer - Help

Wood Foundation - (6'9" ceiling height, 2x8 treated walls), can I add a 2' pony wall to increase basement ceiling height without too much stress to the current walls? The only additional weight would be the weight of the pony wall. Realistically, that weight is probably offset by the ultralight drywall in use these days. Just thought I would double check.
Old 02-01-2018, 08:34 AM

I'm not an engineer.
If you are adding a pony wall on top of existing I see the joint as a weak spot
Old 02-01-2018, 10:23 AM

Is this a load bearing wall your are replacing? If not then you are likely fine. If it is; this is not something to just "wing it" on. Get a proper assessment for load bearing wall modifications.
Old 02-01-2018, 12:37 PM

Structurally, I don’t see any reason you couldn’t do it, so long as you have engineered drawing and obtain all required permits. That being said, if there’s already a house built above the basement, you’ve got a lot of work to do to gain two feet. Stairs would need to be altered or replaced, likely not going to be 2’ of slacknin your electrical lines, plumbing and havoc would have to be altered as well. As well as the work required to raise the house to get the new walls in. . .
Old 02-01-2018, 12:48 PM

Whether an engineer or not, the best way to answer the question would be to take a look at the forces typically acting on the structure, and determine if the changes would exceed the intentions of code spec, or of previous explicit analysis & design.

It seems the main static forces resisted by a basement wall (assuming no earthquakes or dynamic internal loads) are: a) vertical gravity loads of the building on the basement, b) uneven loading of vertical forces along the wall, and c) exterior 'caving' pressure on the side of the wall directed inward.