Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 11-29-2016, 03:18 PM

Default Coyote Hunting

Hey AO,

I was wondering if anyone could help a new hunter out with getting some yotes. I've been scouting WMU 328 for the past 3 months, lots and lots of signs of them and wolf as well.

I've been calling them from first light to last light with no luck. I think I have most of my bases covered, by that I mean I'm concealed, out of the wind, no skin showing, I'm silent ( well pretty darn close anyway ) and always in a ready position to not give my position away with movement. I'm using a handheld e-caller the wife got me last Xmas, it isn't the best ( Flextone FLX 50 ) but it makes better sounds than I can haha.

From all the reading I've done, I will call for 3-5 minutes, slowly increasing volume and then hurry up and wait a good 30-40 minutes before moving 2 km to a new spot. Everytime I'm out, I end up seeing deer galore but never a yote. I'm starting to think I am just no good at this or the coyotes are beyond smart in this area. I've even been out scouting just after sunset, listening for howls and communication so I can gauge where they are in the area. Just the other morning, I left home at 05:30 and went into my area as quietly as can be, parked and listened until sunrise and nothing.

I don't have any hunting mentor or advice as most of my friends do not hunt and the one that does likes to truck hunt and I prefer pushing bush. There's no merit in sitting in your vehicle in hopes something comes waltzing your way.

So, I guess what I'd like to know is, does anyone have any tips for a new predator hunter? I'm frustrated but not ready to give up!

Thanks everyone,

Dusty
Old 11-29-2016, 05:03 PM

Don't give up. If it was easy there would be way less coyotes out there. In my opinion they are one of the smartest animals in North America and the learn very quickly. Good luck.
Old 11-29-2016, 05:54 PM

Quote: