Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Fishing Discussion

Old 10-05-2021, 08:41 AM

Default Sit on Top Fishing Kayaks

Hello Everyone,
So I am looking at buying either a Old Towne Sportsman 106 PDL or a Wilderness Tarpon 105 fishing kayak. To those of you who fish or have fished out of a fishing kayak i have a question.
1. Do you find them safe and stable on the water, even in a little chop or larger waves? How would you compare them to a canoe for stability?

Been watching YouTube videos and it seems guys are always commenting on flipping or falling out of there kayaks. I assume its because they aren't being safe or paying attention. I am down sizing from a fishing boat to a fishing kayak so I am not a newbie when it comes to being on the water by any means. But am a newbie in the world of fishing kayaks.

Thank you to all in advance for your advice and answers.
Old 10-05-2021, 09:33 AM

Location: At the end of the Thirsty Beaver Trail, Pinsky lake, Alberta.