Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2021, 10:42 PM
elkrub's Avatar
elkrub elkrub is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 262
Default Ihunter...

Question for you Ihunter users;are the maps Clear like Fatmaps?
Cuz I don't get wi-fi at my hunting Location. Does it work when your offline?
I'd like to get it if its good....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2021, 10:59 PM
astepanuk's Avatar
astepanuk astepanuk is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The North
Posts: 1,258
Default

I absolutely love my I hunter I use it all day on my mountains trips the gps still picks up your location when you off the grid when we were hunting in Bc last year we pinned our small boat on the lake and followed our pin back with zero trouble there are several different maps to choose from.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2021, 11:07 PM
elkrub's Avatar
elkrub elkrub is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 262
Default

Do you have to upgrade to get good clear maps, is it like google earth when you zoom in.
Thx i'm going to get it for sure...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2021, 01:32 PM
35 whelen's Avatar
35 whelen 35 whelen is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: N.W OF EDMONTON AND EAST OF GRAND PRAIRIE
Posts: 5,319
Default

I find the maps are very clear I used my eye Hunter all the time but they are very outdated at least 10 years old and most areas I use
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2021, 04:58 PM
WeaselBeard WeaselBeard is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elkrub View Post
Question for you Ihunter users;are the maps Clear like Fatmaps?
Cuz I don't get wi-fi at my hunting Location. Does it work when your offline?
I'd like to get it if its good....
Hi elkrub,

Yes it works offline, but you will have to download the map portion(s) you wish to have (iHunter refers to this downloading as caching maps). There is a zoom factor for clarity on the offline mode which you can adjust when downloading the map area.

Also it uses googlemaps, so whatever clarity googlemaps would give you, ihunter will give you (at least that is my experience) (NOTE: I cannot speak to how updated the maps are in relation to google).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2021, 10:33 PM
deerfarmer deerfarmer is offline
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 69
Default

Fantastic app for maps. Download an arc GIS cached version of the area you want to or will be hunting and you are good to go for no cell areas. Add waypoints and tracks just like a GPS as well as photos for a your waypoints.
__________________
Vice grips for pliers, pliers for a wrench, wrench for a hammer ... hammer's everything else! - Corb Lund
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2021, 09:24 AM
DRhunter DRhunter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 395
Default

Yeah Ihunter has been a game changer. I used to use an app to put cameras out but required cell service... man it made it tough to find some of those cameras, haha. Now with Ihunter, the ability to cache areas makes sure I will never lose another camera again when I am in areas without cell service... other than maybe taken by a 2 legged critter.

And awesome for hunting a new area that you are not as familiar with. So nice to have a landowner map while knowing exactly where you are. Absolutely no excuses for trespassing with this app (unless I guess you have an older landowner map and the land has changed).

DR
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2021, 06:37 PM
Savage Bacon's Avatar
Savage Bacon Savage Bacon is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Calgary-Red Deer area
Posts: 1,486
Default

It seems that the 2 land owner maps that I purchased are no longer on my ihunter. Has anyone else had this issue?
__________________
I'm not really a licensed bodyman or heavy duty mechanic. I just play one at work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-17-2021, 06:44 PM
colt45 colt45 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savage Bacon View Post
It seems that the 2 land owner maps that I purchased are no longer on my ihunter. Has anyone else had this issue?
You can tap on the horn on right side at bottom
Then open diff page where you can reactivate previous purchase
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-17-2021, 06:46 PM
colt45 colt45 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Savage Bacon View Post
It seems that the 2 land owner maps that I purchased are no longer on my ihunter. Has anyone else had this issue?
Quote:
Originally Posted by colt45 View Post
You can tap on the horn on right side at bottom
Then open diff page where you can reactivate previous purchase
You select my purchases , then at bottom of page , it should have place to reactivate
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-17-2021, 07:45 PM
Savage Bacon's Avatar
Savage Bacon Savage Bacon is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Calgary-Red Deer area
Posts: 1,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colt45 View Post
You select my purchases , then at bottom of page , it should have place to reactivate
It says no purchases. It shows my name and email so it knows its me. I'll send them an email and see what they say. I had 2 that I had purchased.

Sorry for hijacking
__________________
I'm not really a licensed bodyman or heavy duty mechanic. I just play one at work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-17-2021, 09:11 PM
ceedub's Avatar
ceedub ceedub is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lamont
Posts: 843
Default

I lost my landowner maps when I switched from Android to IPhone.

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-18-2021, 11:49 AM
Chief27 Chief27 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lac La Biche
Posts: 51
Default

Same thing happened to me two years ago. I emailed them and they got back to me almost right right away. Believe the guys name was Matt, he responded back on a weekend and got it all fixed up for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.