Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Guns & Ammo Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-17-2021, 07:49 AM
DiabeticKripple's Avatar
DiabeticKripple DiabeticKripple is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Blackfalds
Posts: 6,260
Default

i use Ballistic AE, works really good and you can adjust so many different things like atmospheric conditions when you zeroed vs what you are currently shooting in
__________________
Trudeau and Biden sit to pee
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-17-2021, 09:36 AM
Dean2's Avatar
Dean2 Dean2 is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Near Edmonton
Posts: 12,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obsessed1 View Post
Take the diameter of your scope tube + diameter of bolt ( on an open top type action) or action on a closed top type and divide that in half. Add in the distance between top of bolt( action) and bottom if scope tube. That is the #. This data does matter as distance increases.

As for ROT you can do it the old fashioned way using witness marks and a tight patch on a rod. Mark the rod at your "start" and your "finish" of one full rotation. Measure between marks and that's your ROT.

This works, personally I find it a lot easier to just pull the bolt out and use a tape measure or caliper to eyeball the distance between the centre of the bolt/rear action bridge and where the crosshairs are in the scope. Being relatively close, as in within a 1/4" is plenty accurate on this measurement. If you want to see the difference in drop input a bullet, speed etc in a drop calculator with the standard 1.5" scope height most calculators have pre-input, now change the height to 2.25, which is close to what most scopes actually are.

So as an example using a 117 grain bullet doing 3200 fps, 1.5" scope height gives you 3.3 high at 100 for a 300 yard zero, 2.0" scope height gives you 2.9" high at 100 for 300 yard zero and 2.25" high gives you 2.8" high at 100 for a 300 yard zero.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-17-2021, 08:30 PM
AlienX AlienX is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gube View Post
Isnipe has done well for me (iPhone)
Have had ISnipe for years and it worked well, however recently it gives an error that it is unable to reach weather provider and won’t download daily variables.
Are you having this issue as well??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.