Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Archery Discussion

Old 02-07-2021, 12:54 PM

Default Bowtech Carbon Icon Upgrades Or...

Looking for advice from the well-seasoned shooters on here.

I currently shoot a Bowtech Carbon Icon which I’ve had since I started shooting about 4 season as ago.

I’m at the point where I really want to get my shooting and equipment dialed. In addition to some coaching and more consistent practice I think it’s time I upgraded a few components on my bow.
Currently it has the stock 4 pin sight, “three brush whisker biscuit” style rest and the small stock stabilizer.

I love a light mountain rifle but last season I started to feel like such a light bow might not be the most favorable on those windier days hunting. Perhaps a heavier setup would help eliminate some of the floatiness on those windier days?
I also have a 30.5” draw cycle which makes me wonder if I would benefit from a bow with a longer axle to axle length if I’m going down the path of a new bow anyhow...

Anyway, my question is:

Do I stick with the Carbon Icon and simply upgrade the sight, stabilizer and rest?
Or maybe I’m better off to sell the bow as-is and buck up for a whole new setup altogether?

Am I just being crazy thinking I might get better accuracy with a longer axle to axle length?

Thanks all!!
Old 02-07-2021, 02:13 PM

I was in the same boat as you and I picked up a used Hoyt maxxis that came with a nice sight and drop away rest. I can shoot it much better than the carbon icon and it just feels like a higher quality bow. I paid $400 for the 10 year old Hoyt and sold mine for $525. I’d assume a 2015-16 flagship bow could be had for around $700
Old 02-07-2021, 02:42 PM
Banned