Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Hunting Discussion

Old 03-22-2018, 03:32 PM

Default Goat hunting BC.

Well I’m trying to get myself ready for a hunt in B.C. to hunt “The beast the colour of Winter”, the ever elusive (especially to us Albertans) Mountain Goat 🐐. I am an Alberta resident now (yes I’ll be hosted) but am no stranger to the areas that I am eligible as a non-resident to hunt. I grew up on Kinbasket Lake my family still owns and operates a trap line right on the lake in 7-02. So kind of my home turf, I could literally glass mountain goats from the beach at our cabin. That being said I’ve personally never chased after these crafty critters. Anyone have any advice that has tried this endeavour? Equipment that a guy should acquire, or things to prepare before hand to help make things go smoother. Obviously be in shape to climb and wear the right footwear. I’ve been studying maps and old harvest and population surveys. My “plan” isn’t until 2020 so I can get my self ready and dot all my “t’s” and cross all my “i’s” lol. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.
Old 03-22-2018, 07:04 PM

The first advice I have to offer is go this year before the rules change. The rest of the info can be gleaned from sheep hunting threads. And don't shoot one where it will fall and get smashed into little pieces or be impossible to retrieve.

Gerry Burnie
Old 03-22-2018, 08:19 PM

Know the difference between a dry Nanny and a Billy.
Old 03-22-2018, 08:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NCC View Post
The first advice I have to offer is go this year before the rules change. The rest of the info can be gleaned from sheep hunting threads. And don't shoot one where it will fall and get smashed into little pieces or be impossible to retrieve.
What are the changes that are being made in regards to goat, I’m not aware?
Old 03-22-2018, 10:41 PM