Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > Trapping Discussion

Old 03-02-2022, 07:54 PM

Default Under ice muskrat sets

Hoping to get some muskrats this season. Was thinking of using belisle 120 with carrot on the trigger wired to a long stick near their push-ups as well as some subs in runs. Being my first sets is the 120 going to be the best bang for my buck for muskrats? Or should I go up in size for use on other game I’m just starting out and dont have the cash flow to buy one of each size for each species and am hoping for some economy of effort with traps.
Old 03-02-2022, 10:31 PM

110 is all you need for under ice rats. I have a bunch of them an 120s you can have
Old 03-02-2022, 11:06 PM

Nice to see you helping out new trappers Rod.
Old 03-02-2022, 11:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by South west trappin RG View Post
110 is all you need for under ice rats. I have a bunch of them an 120s you can have
I would really appreciate that.
Old 03-04-2022, 08:21 AM

I use 120s on Hagz clips, just take the safety off one side. They are a little more awkward but do the trick.
Old 03-15-2022, 10:44 PM

time for an update;

South west trappin RG has helped me out a lot and set me up with some traps and showed me how he would set them. I really appreciate the time he spend showing me and the traps. thanks again rod! Wolfman1875 has also also offered me some great advice and some colony traps, thanks for the advice and the offer on the traps. both of these guys have been super helpful I hope I can pay it back one day.