Go Back   Alberta Outdoorsmen Forum > Main Category > General Discussion

Old 10-27-2016, 09:16 PM

Default What is normal 'Thanks' for getting permission on someone's land?

Hi guys, this is my first year hunting, I have an acquaintance that is taking me to a farm near his home town, where we have permission to hunt deer. I'm wondering if there is a norm for showing appreciation, like some of the meat or just a case of beer? I'm told the farmer is happy to have us there, as he has lots of deer to harvest, so maybe just a handshake is enough? I just want to make sure I'm following tradition.

I guess i could just as my acquaintance, but I figured I'd get a broader scope here...thanks guys
Old 10-27-2016, 09:19 PM

A card or a ring of sausage is usually appreciated. Develope the relationship, and that landowner will likely become a friend.

LC
Old 10-27-2016, 09:21 PM

Dont have permission on farms my self but figure its the same as whenever you recive a favour even if its still helping them. Ask the farmer in question or your friend what they want. Everyones diffrent. He may ask you to come out a day and help on the farm (someone i know helps with the calving in return) beer might be fine. just have a conversation and find out. And if they say its fine i dont need anything just leave somthing simple by the door with a decent thank you note. This is what i do for these types of situations
Old 10-27-2016, 09:27 PM

If you do something to show your appreciation after the hunt, and it wasn't a condition of being given access, you are good to go. If however you make a deal to provide any type of compensation in exchange for access for the purpose of hunting, then both you and the landowner would be committing a violation of the Wildlife Act.
Old 10-27-2016, 09:29 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PL511 View Post